Music atT ST MARY'S PPerivale


Sunday 20 June 4.00 pm

Streamed LIVE concert in an empty church

Platform Music

Eriko Nagayama (violin)
Varinia Oyola Rebaza (viola)
Sarah Gait (cello)
Mihály Berecz (piano)

Mozart: Piano quartet in E flat K 493 (28')

Schumann: Piano quartet in E flat Op 47 (28')

Watch on the website here, where you can view it on Vimeo or Youtube
The performance will be available to view afterwards.
If you enjoy it, please click here to donate to support our musicians.

Japanese born Eriko Nagayama is a highly acclaimed violinist, graduated in 2018 from her MA in Performance at the Royal Academy of Music under the tutelage of György Pauk with Distinction, DipRAM for an outstanding Final Recital, the Marjorie Bunty Lempfert Award, and the Moir Carnegie Prize. Eriko has won several awards for her violin performances, including first prize and the Jean Schmidt prize for outstanding musicianship at the Yokohama International Music Competition, Wilfrid Parry Brahms Prize 2016, Sir John Barbirolli Memorial Prize 2017, and Winifred Small Violin Prize 2018 at the Royal Academy of Music.  She is a member of Trio Opal (piano trio) since 2017. Recently, they have awarded the 3rd prize in the Trondheim International Chamber Music competition 2019 as well as the Kim Trio commission prize and the Audience prize, and are invited to be back to the Festival in 2020 (postponed to 2021). They also won the first prize in the Birmingham Intercollegiate Piano Trio Competition, and were finalists in the inaugural Birmingham International Piano Chamber Music Competition in November. Eriko was generously supported by the Yellow Angel Foundation in Japan and additionally had been granted the fellowship to study in London for the 2017/18 academic year by the Program of Overseas Study for Upcoming Artists sponsored by the Agency for Cultural Affairs, the Japanese government. She plays a violin by Jean Baptiste Vuillaume c.1852 kindly loaned to her through the Beare's International Violin Society a generous sponsor.

Varinia Oyola Rebaza is a versatile solo violist and celebrated chamber musician born in Lima,Peru. A graduate of The Juilliard School and the Royal Academy of Music, she has performed in renowned venues such as Conway Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Auditorio de la Diputacion in Spain, Auditorio Santa Ursula in Peru and St. Margaret's Church at Westminster Abbey. Her awards include the Jerome L. Greene Fellowship at Juilliard, the First Prize and Audience Prize
at the 2018 International Competition Massimo Antonelli, as a member of the Alauda Quartet, and most recently she was honoured as an Associate of the Royal Academy of Music (ARAM). She has been invited to festivals such as Jeunesses Musicales International Chamber Music Campus, Snape Maltings Chamber Music Residency, Orford Academy in Canada and the Barenboim-Said Akademie Masterclasses with Yuri Bashmet in Berlin. Her principal teachers are Garfield Jackson, Heidi Castleman, Christine Rutledge, Steven Tenenbom and Garth Knox. She plays on a viola by Bernard Fendt (c.1840) generously on loan from the Royal Academy of Music Museum Collection.

British cellist Sarah Gait, born in Cumbria, was recently awarded the 2020 ISA Digital Creative Award from the Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst, Vienna. A graduate of the Royal Academy of Music, Sarah has performed as a soloist on BBC Radio 3, with engagements including at Cadogan Hall, King’s Place, Southbank Centre and the Royal Albert Hall’s Love Classical chamber series. Also a composer and winner of the BBC Young Composer Competition, Sarah premièred her own semi-improvised concerto last season with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra in Germany. She is the recipient of awards from the Royal Philharmonic Society, EMI Music Sound Foundation, the BBC and a 2019 Cumbria Life Culture Award. Sarah has worked with eminent cellists including Claudio Bohórquez, Miklós Perényi and Frans Helmerson at the Barenboim-Said Akademie, Berlin, and was recently invited to join the Berlin/Israel based Musethica scheme. Recordings during the current season include a new solo cello work by Angela Slater, funded by Arts Council England, and a sonata for cello and piano by Rafael Marino Arcaro, supported by RVW Trust and commissioned for GY Duo, a partnership with pianist Yuanfan Yang. As well as co-directing Platform Music, Sarah also performs with Duo Amare and the Southbank Sinfonia. Sarah plays an 18th-century cello on generous loan from the private collection of Dr Peter Hauber in Berlin.

One of the most outstanding individuals of his generation, Mihály Berecz is a Hungarian pianist who made his début at the age of 16 in 2013, playing Ravel's Piano Concerto in G major in the Béla Bartók National Concert Hall under the baton of Zoltán Kocsis. This highly successful concert led to numerous other invitations, which have allowed him to collaborate with such conductors as Tamás Vásáry, with whom he performed Liszt's Hungarian Fantasy at the Hungarian State Opera House, and András Keller, with whom he played Debussy's Fantasy and Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major at the Liszt Academy. In 2020, his superb work as a musician was recognised with the Junior Prima Award.



Home | Events Archive | Musicians | History | Pictures | ideo | Friends | Contact Us